Helping teachers integrate technology into instruction

Week 12, July 18: Diigo

This week, we’re going to take a few minutes and look at Diigo.  Diigo is a great tool for both students and teachers!  If you browse or read a lot on the web, we believe you will probably love Diigo! Diigo is two services in one — it is a research and collaborative research tool on the one hand, and a knowledge-sharing community and social content site on the other.  Watch this short video to learn about the main features of Diigo, as well as some of its many features.  For extra help, this site has some additional videos that you can use.

Diigo has an education portal with tools for teachers. There, you can set up protected class Diigo accounts so that your students can share resources with each other.  Your students can use Diigo to keep track of their research, highlight work they are reading online, and save web pages for later viewing.

To start, explore the education groups in Diigo to see how others are sharing resources with each other.  If you like what you see and think Diigo might be for you, go ahead and sign up for an account – it’s free!

What do you think about Diigo?  Do you already use it, or another similar tool?

Comments on: "Week 12, July 18: Diigo" (5)

  1. Diigo seems to offer another place to store your stuff. I guess with all these options, one will have to decide which internet site suits them best. Not overly excited about Diigo so far.

  2. I think Diigo looks very promising. I do a lot of research with the EL students because most of them are familiar with using the web, and it gets their attention. We have tried to share websites in the past, but the methods were clumsy, and often we lost the thread. I am definitely going to try this.

  3. I have not used Diigo before. I like the knowledge sharing aspect of Diigo. I like the idea of students collaborating with students in other classes. I also think it will be good for students to be able to access bookmarks from home. We have been introduced to several sites where students can share. I plan to try these sites and see which ones students seem to like and is easy to work with.

  4. I signed up, watched the video, looked at the lesson plans. Looks pretty interesting. I’d like to learn more. I like the idea of being more organized with my bookmarks and able to share websites. I thought I had already posted this, but it wasn’t here when I returned today.

  5. I looked at Diigo when I thought Delicious was going away. Has anyone used both? I’d like to know how they compare.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

