Helping teachers integrate technology into instruction

I can’t believe it’s Wednesday again already – where does the time go?  Let me just state up front that this week’s post is MUCH shorter than normal – no cheering, please!  I was at AETC last week; I am co-presenting at NATC this week; and I am leaving Friday for ISTE.  Thank goodness for long, restful summer breaks, right?!?

This week we’re going to look at Evernote.  Evernote is a great free online tool that helps you keep track of notes as well as information that you find online.  You can install it on any computer you use as well as your smart phones, iPads, etc.  Here is a quick, one minute introduction to Evernote.

Here is a short article that lists 7 reasons why you will love Evernote.  This blog article lists 10 ways that students can use Evernote in school.  And, finally, here is a resource site for using Evernote in education.

Practice!

Try Evernote out by signing up for a free account.  Click on the Create Account link at the top right hand of the page.  On the next page, fill in the required information and click on the Register button.  Play around with it and see what it can do.  If you decide that you like it or want to explore more, download it to your computer(s) and/or smart devices and start syncing your notes!

I know that a lot of students really love Evernote.  Do your students use it, or do you use it?  Is it new to you?  What do you think about it?

Comments on: "Week 8, June 20th: Evernote" (6)

  1. My students have not used Evernote before. I have never used it before. I signed up for a free account to play around with it. I can see some positive uses for this. It can be a good place for students to keep notes or vocabulary terms. I like the fact that you can add images. For myself I liked the Hello. This is a great way to remember people and history of meeting.

  2. Interesting… that is really pretty nice; I found the Teacher Learning Community from that site and then a Livebinder of Evernote Resources for Education.

  3. I signed up for a free account. I’ve heard Alyson C. talk about using it and I hope to get some tips from her. Looks like a great organizational tool.

  4. In a sense it reminds me a little bit of pintrest

  5. okarrdms said:

    I have never used Evernote. I know we downloaded it to our iPads last year. I think it would be a great way for students to organize information for research projects. I may try to use it next year.

  6. I can see potentially using this for student work samples for PST or IEP documentation. I have never used this before. I am definitely interested to play more with it & brainstorm how it can be used.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

