Helping teachers integrate technology into instruction

This week, we’re going to take a look at another way for students to present materials in class.  We’re looking at Glogster, which is an online tool that allows users to make online posters that can include pictures, videos, audio, text, and web links.  Teachers and students can comments on each other’s Glogs, much like a blog works.  (In case you’re wondering, the word glog comes from the combination of “blog” and “graphical.”)

Watch this short video that describes Glogster.

Now that we know what Glogster is, let’s look at some examples.  We’ll start with some glogs from Ms. Lindsey’s class at WMES.  This is a series of three short videos that are presented by her students, showing off their glogs!

Glogpedia is a collection of Glogster’s best educational glogs.  Here are just a couple of the interesting examples that you will find:

Pretty interesting, aren’t they?  It’s amazing what students can create!  Of course, when students present, teachers need rubrics.  Here are a couple to get you started:

And a couple of lesson plans, too!

Practice!

To get started, register for a teacher account on Glogster.  Teacher accounts are free.  Fill in the required information and create your account – very easy!  Then, click on the ‘Create New Glog’ button to get started.  Play around, see what you can do and, if you feel like it, share your new glogs with the rest of us!

What do you think about Glogster?  Is it something that you think your students would enjoy using?  Are you already using it in your classroom?  Share your thoughts/comments/questions!

Comments on: "Week 7, June 13th: Glogster" (4)

  1. okarrdms said:

    I have been using Glogster for years. I love it, but they changed their accounts last year. While I can still make Glogs for free to use with my students, I have to pay for the features that make it so wonderful. It was great to have students work from my account and be able to see their work in one place. It is a great way for students to share research and move beyond basic information. I also love that I can imbed music and videos to go with lessons that I am teaching.

  2. I went to a workshop on Glogster last year at BJHS. I really enjoyed it and thought this will be a presentation that students will really enjoy creating. At the end of the workshop the instructor said Glogster was no longer free. I have not used it in the classroom. I wish I had the money to buy the accounts for students use. I am not sure what the cost is, but I will find out. I looked over some of the examples. I thought the two Rubrics were good. I am printing those off in case I use it this year. If Glogster was free I know I would be using it.

  3. I’ve seen some BJHS students use glogster. An outstanding way to make a presentation. It really “livens up” the poster concept!!!

  4. I also used Glogs with my classes. I haven’t used it since the change because it is hard to manange Elementary kids when I can’t do it from my own account. If anyone has suggestions for the new way I need them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

