Helping teachers integrate technology into instruction

This is Week 1 and, since it’s the Introduction to our series, it only makes sense that we start out talking about blogging!  Your only task this week is to register for a WordPress account if you don’t already have one.  Having an account will allow you to comment on these blog posts.  You may also want to use your WordPress blog later on, either as an individual blog or as a place to share with your students.

After you’ve set up your WordPress account, comment on this blog post so that we know you’re here! Let us know:

  • what you’re hoping to get out of this series
  • if there is a particular tool you’re hoping to learn about

WordPress is a web-based blogging platform. Some others are Blogger, Edublogs, and Tumblr.

To set up an account with WordPress, you can use any username and password you want. You will be using this account to comment on these posts, so try to pick a username that will easily identify you.  You will be asked to choose a name for your blog but don’t worry too much about that part – you can always go back later and change it!  As always, if you need help with the sign-up process, let me know!

We’ll talk more about blogging next week so, if you have any questions in the meantime, be sure to post them!  See you next week!

Comments on: "Week 1, May 2nd: Let’s Get Started!" (24)

  1. I just made my WordPress account…Yeah for me!!!

  2. Fun! Learning new uses for out technology will be great! No specific goal at this point just want to learn.

  3. Morgan,
    You are so funny!

  4. I love online learning and look forward to doing better than Morgan:)

  5. I am really excited about researching and discovering new tools to use in my classroom next year. Sometimes as teachers, we get overwhelmed by the subject of “technology”, that we don’t want to take the time to truly understand what it can do for us and our students. This blogging opportunity will allow me to share my ideas to others and to get new ideas from others. It’s great, easy, and fun all at the same time. I hope I am able to find some tool that my students can use to do the following: take notes; do interactive long-term projects, and to write essays. Well, here we go!

  6. I am hoping to set up my own blog to use for student discussions over a novel. I am also really excited that we can work on this over the summer, when we have so much more time to play and experiment with new technology. Thanks Sandy! Madelene

    • This worked pretty well with my students. Some difficulties I had were getting them to respond to each others’ posts. Because I moderate each post before allowing it to appear and that can be time-consuming with 98 students, I think they tended to write more original comments than interact with each other. I’m hoping that next year I can work it out so that there is a little more real time interaction. BTW, I used Edublogs for my TKAM blogs. The format is very similar to this, but Edublogs is primarily directed toward educators and students. They also have free educator accounts. I am happy to be here. Sheila

  7. I already have a Word Press account. I use it for my classroom communication. I really do like it as far as ease of posting daily, linking to activities and posting pictures.

  8. reignbo10 said:

    Looking forward to seeing how this works.

  9. I made my WordPress account. I am ready to start.

  10. Sandy, do we have to make a WordPress account, or can we use our Twitter account to comment? I was planning on using a different platform for my class blog.

  11. I’m so excited to see so many of you who are excited to learn new things!! Y’all have really hit on the two main reasons why I decided to do the blog: 1) many teachers are overwhelmed/intimidated by technology, and 2) time. My hopes are that by introducing tech tools in an informal setting, where we can not only learn about them but have a discussion with each other about their pros and cons (and there are pros and cons!), we will eliminate the “fear factor” that some teachers may have about trying them out in the classroom next fall. Also, as Madelene mentioned, it’s a little easier to try something new out during the summer when you’re not quite so pressed for time.

    Thanks so much for joining in and participating! I look forward to learning with all of you!

  12. I LOVE this idea! I can not wait to participate. I have had a wordpress account for a long time for my personal use, but I have not used it in the classroom. Can’t wait to learn how to make this and other ideas a reality! ~Allison

  13. I have been thinking about starting a blog on YA books and this is the perfect opportunity. I’ve read so many books I’m starting to forget what they’re about. Maybe I should have called my blog Middle Aged Librarian! I would like to see how teachers can easily let students blog and collaborate with classrooms around the world.

  14. I have mine done! It’sn elmcs! There is not much on it yet, but I am enjoying learning new things.

  15. Is there a way to edit a post? I don’t know how I missed that stray ‘n’.

  16. I’ve set up my wordpress account and I’m looking forward to the interactions and learning!

  17. I set up my wordpress. I love learning new things I can share with teachers and students. I am hoping for new ideas to increase collaboration and to excite the students about learning.

  18. I am here 🙂
    Sheila Hadden

  19. better late than never…made my account today

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

